top of page

J's Place Nicholasville

We were super bored one Tuesday, so I decided to try something new. There is a super cute coffee shop in downtown Nicholasville that has toddler time on Tuesday mornings from 11:00-12:30pm called J's Place. It is located at 101 South Main Street. I think there is only street parking, but there are probably some parking lots in downtown that I just didn't see. I didn't have too much trouble finding a space though and parking is free.

We went on a day that they were doing bug crafts. They had bug pictures to color and you could make bugs out of shapes that they had cut out. There were a few toys for the kids to play with as well. They also showed A Bug's Life for the kids. Overall, it was a really neat little craft, movie and play. And, best of all, it is all free. Can't really beat that.

Of course, as it usually tends to happen, my son was not into the craft or movie at all. Instead, he was obsessed with the buses that drove by. I swear, there were about a dozen while we were there. So, he was really into that. And, they have big beautiful windows, so the viewing is great.

The coffee shop is really very nice inside and has a decent menu (see here) including some gluten free items. The only thing we ordered was a chocolate chip cookie. It was awesome though! And, they went the extra mile and heated it up. We were ready to head out when I got it, so we went next door to the city building and ate our snacks under trees while watching the buses, dump trucks and tractor trailers drive by. It really is a nice place to take everything in, especially if you have a kid as much into vehicles as mine.

One really neat thing I do need to mention is their Pay It Forward wall. You can purchase something for another customer and put it on the wall. You can make it for whoever you want. I saw some for police workers, postal workers, single moms, widows, and students. Since someone in our party of two (it wasn't me) spent a bit of the morning rolling around on the floor whining, I got a cookie for another mom that was having a tough morning with a toddler. So, if you happen to go, and are having a rough morning, find my pay it forward and enjoy! And, also enjoy toddler time. It really is a neat idea and a great way to spend the morning.


bottom of page