top of page

Edley's BBQ in Fritz Farm

About a month ago, the long-awaited Fritz Farm opened off of Nicholasville Road. Now, I know that there are a lot of people not looking forward to the traffic the new development will create, but I was pretty excited to have some new restaurants and shops in town. This is a long overdue post, but we went right when Edley's BBQ opened. We are pretty big BBQ fans (especially my husband), so we didn't want to miss it.

Let me tell you why I love BBQ restaurants for kids. First, they are so laid back. And, Edley's is no exception. This is a paper towel roll on the table, dirty hands, casual, kind of place. You won't get side-eyes from other customers if your kids decide to move around the restaurant or bring their own soundtrack to dinner. Next, my son is a super picky eater, but he loves meat. And, they have meat of all kinds here. Pork, chicken, brisket, they have it all. And, you can get it without sauce, so your plain-jane eater will enjoy that. They also have a large number of sides that change daily, so you should be able to find a side that they enjoy (like macaroni and cheese). And, if your kiddo doesn't prefer BBQ, they have a good sized kids menu. Lastly, the ordering process is FAST here. The line may be a bit long, but it moves fast. You get your number and sit down and both times we were there, the food came fast. No waiting to have someone take your drink order, regular order, etc. And, with BBQ, most of the meat is already prepared, so no crazy long waits.

There were some things that I really loved about Edley's though. They are very family-friendly with tons and tons of high chairs. They didn't have any boosters, but my son didn't struggle too much with the chairs they had. They also have a family restroom! Complete with toilet, changing table, and urinal. Why don't all places have these? Like, really. They don't have a changing table in the regular restrooms, so if you need one, head right to the family restroom. I also loved all the outdoor covered patio seating. Perfect for these coming summer nights. But, the best thing about this restaurant is the location inside the complex. It is right next to an awesome kids playground! I know this isn't actually part of Edley's but, this really cannot be beat. No street to cross, a few feet away is a place your kids can let off steam. This is a fantastic play area with a large sand play area, a shed, areas to climb and generally just move around. We have had to drag my son out each time we have gone. One thing to keep in mind, there is no fencing and it is close to the road, so you will need to keep a close eye on your kiddos.

Food-wise, my husband had the pork platter with macaroni and cheese and banana pudding ($10). I had the pork tacos ($6.50), and my son had the chicken tender kids meal with banana pudding ($5). We also split an order of fries ($4). The portions were all large and the food was fresh. The kids meals were well-priced with a BBQ sandwich being $3.50 and the chicken tenders were the most expensive at $5.00. They include one side and a drink. I have to add the fish tacos were fantastic for summer. Light, a bit of spice, and not overly meat-packed. I don't want to feel like I ate a pound of meat in the summer. The real star for me was the banana pudding. Now, I don't really like banana pudding, but am currently obsessed with theirs. And, you can get it as a side. Totally rocks!

So, if you are in the mood for something new, be sure to check out Edley's BBQ in Fritz Farm. It is a great family-friendly choice. And, nothing really beats BBQ in the summer.


bottom of page