top of page

Mellow Mushroom-Lexington Green

We have been in a restaurant rut lately, so we decided to try out Mellow Mushroom Pizza at Lexington Green. If you are looking at Lexington Green, it located to your left in a separate building (200 Lexington Green). They are open from 11am to 10pm everyday.

Shockingly, this is the first time I have ever been to a Mellow Mushroom (gasp!). As all parents know, pizza is a great choice, especially for a picky eater that will eat pizza. Plus, who doesn't love pizza?

They have a large menu for a pizza place, including vegan and gluten free choices! They also have a large number of salads, sandwiches, burgers and desserts. Great lunch specials as well from 11-2pm Monday through Friday. And, if you are watching your weight, they do have a healthier option menu to choose from (and it is fairly large).

We went on a Saturday afternoon and holy cow, it was super packed. They really cram the tables into this place too, so the area we were sitting in was ridiculously tight. The second row of seats only allows a few inches between the seats of the two tables. So, it was really tight with my sons high chair. I actually saw someone with crutches have to crutch all the way around the restaurant because he couldn't cut through between the tables in his row. Not sure why they built it this way, but not very easy to move in there. Otherwise, it is a nice restaurant with booths, tables and some seating in the loft area upstairs. There is a bar, but it is separate from the seating area.

I was also really impressed with the kid's menu. They have a meatball and mozzarella stacks meal, pretzel dippers, french bread pizza, and all natural mac and cheese. These come with a drink and steamed broccoli, or sliced organic apples for $5.50. I just love that they serve organic apples! They are about the only fruit my son with eat and I think it is a nice touch that they are organic! My son got the meatball and mozzarella stacks and organic apples. And, I was really impressed with the size of the meal. It was two large meatballs with cheese in the middle and sauce. He actually ate it, so that was a huge plus! And, the bites that I had were really good. But, the beauty of going to a pizza place is that you don't need to get a kids meal, you can just split the pizza. They also put a rush on the kid's meal, so it came out really fast.

We just got a half cheese and half sausage pizza. So, nothing too fancy. But, when it came out, the sausage was on the whole pizza. I was just going to try to pick it off (I hate sausage), but the server got me a small cheese pizza. Which was really awesome! The food came out pretty quickly and the staff was pretty fast in getting a check, etc.

Overall, we had a great time. My son loved all the different televisions and things on the wall. It was a bit of a pain in the butt to get to our seats carrying a toddler since they were so tight, but that is really my only complaint. The prices seemed reasonable, the food was really yummy and my son actually ate a meal. So, that is a win-win if you ask me. Try it out!


bottom of page